Past Events

18.06.2018

Suzanne Newcombe speaking on "1923 Usman Report on Indigenous Medicine"

Suzanne will be speaking at 12:20 on "1923 Usman Report on Indigenous Medicine"

At the All Party Parliamentary Group - Indian Traditional Sciences in partnership with High Commission of India and The Nehru Centre's event Celebrating UN Int'l Yoga Day 2018 and NHS @ 70

27.05.2018

Presentation by Dagmar Wujastyk: Verjüngungskuren im Ayurveda. Fragen zu Autorität, Authentizität und Wissenschaftlichkeit

Presentation at the Ayurveda Days in Vienna http://www.ayurveda-days.at/

Sunday, May 27, 11:30-12:00

 

08.05.2018

Ayuryog at the opening of the SOAS Centre of Yoga Studies

AYURYOG at launch of the SOAS Centre of Yoga Studies 

Suzanne Newcombe will present the Ayuryog project as an academic partner to the new the SOAS Centre for Yoga Studies and the ERC-funded Haṭha Yoga Project (also based at SOAS). 

The opening of the SOAS Centre of Yoga Studies will also launch the new fully-open access academic Journal of Yoga Studies

8 May 2018 - 6-8pm
Free

07.04.2018

Images of Indian Gods and Objects of Immortality

Patanjali kneels before a linga 1850 (circa) Tamil Nadu

Suzanne Newcombe will give a talk at the

British Museum in London's Study Day: Understanding Religion Through Objects
Saturday 7 April 2018, 10.30–16.30
Stevenson Lecture Theatre
Tickets £23

19.03.2018

Guest Lecture - "Yoga and Health in Modern India"

tudents of Naval Children School and Naval Kindergarten, Ezhimala participating in the mass yoga demonstration at Indian Naval Academy to commemorate the 3rd International Yoga Day 2017. Photo by the Indian Navy.

Suzanne Newcombe will give a guest lecture for student on SOAS's MA in Traditions of Yoga and Meditation course on

Monday March 19 2018 -  3-5pm
Room G51a, Ground Floor, Main Building SOAS

She will cover the development of yoga in modern India and its entaglements with nationalism, health care and ayurveda from the late ninteenth century to the present.

 

02.03.2018

Presentation by Dagmar Wujastyk: AyurYog: Entangled Histories of Yoga, Ayurveda and Alchemy in South Asia

Image of Yogi at the Mahamandir at Jodhpur by Jacqueline Hargreaves

March 2, 10:30, Lehar Gasse 6-8, 1060 Vienna

 

18.02.2018

Interview with Suzanne Newcombe "Authenticity and Transformations in Yoga Traditions" at the online conference: Embodied Philosophy: Yoga Reconsidered

http://embodiedphilosophy.courses/yogareconsidered

Sunday, Feb 18, 4pm EST (9pm GMT, 10pm CET)

Authenticity and Transformationsin Yoga Traditions

18.02.2018

Presentation by Dagmar Wujastyk: "Healthcare and longevity practices in yoga, ayurveda and rasaśāstra" at the online conference: Embodied Philosophy: Yoga Reconsidered

http://embodiedphilosophy.courses/yogareconsidered

Sunday, Feb 18, 2pm EST (7pm GMT, 8pm CET)

Healthcare and longevity practices in yoga, ayurveda and rasaśāstra

19.10.2017

The medical practices of yogins in medieval India. The case of the Dharmaputrikā

Christèle Barois

Lecture by Christèle Barois

6 pm, October 19, 2017

Seminar Room SR 1

Institute for South Asian, Tibetan and Buddhist Studies

Spitalgasse 2, courtyard 2, door 7, 1090 Vienna

 

 

17.10.2017

Yoga, Ayurveda, Magic and Alchemy

Photograph of a sadhu in a holy river by Joey L from the series 'Holy Men'

Public Talk by Suzanne Newcombe on Yoga, Ayurveda, Magic and Alchemy
Tuesday 17 October 2017, 6.30-8.30pm
Rudolf Steiner House, 35 Park Road, London NW1 6XT (Baker Street tube)
Tickets available here.

© Ayuryog 2015 - University of Vienna, Spitalgasse 2, Hof 2.1 & Hof 2.7 (Campus), 1090 Wien